Skip to main content

Post an event

Sign in

The Five

Beethoven; our contemporary.
The climax of a brilliant international experiment, Brett Dean’s Gneixendorf Music – A Winter’s Journey is his answer to a challenge thrown out by iconoclastic American pianist and curator Jonathan Biss. Over five years, Biss commissioned five composers write their own piano concertos in response to those composed by Beethoven. Dean’s is the final in the series, so be there to witness a piece of history.
One of Australia’s most successful and acclaimed composers, Brett Dean’s body of work spans 30 years and has been championed by the greatest conductors and ensembles in the world, including the Berlin Philharmonic, Concertgebouw Orchestra, BBC Symphony, Los Angeles Philharmonic and the MSO. His most recent opera, Hamlet, premiered at the Glyndebourne Festival in 2017 and will be staged in 2021 by The Metropolitan Opera in New York.
Dean’s concerto is an attempt to enter the state of the mind of Beethoven, as he confronted some profound familial conflicts and failing health towards the end of his life. The “Gneixendorf” in the work’s title refers to a small Austrian village where Dean spent time in the summer of 2013 and unexpectedly stumbled on a relatively unknown episode of Beethoven’s life.